The American Society for Experimental NeuroTherapeutics (ASENT) is an independent non-profit organization established in 1997 by leaders in academia, government, advocacy and industry to facilitate the process by which new therapies are made available to patients with neurological disorders. Its primary goal is to encourage and advance the development of improved therapies for diseases and disorders of the nervous system.

ASENT engages in scientific exchanges to encourage contacts between those involved in the discovery and development of neurotherapeutics and to provide opportunities for dialogue between the interested groups.  The society organizes education and training and publishes a journal for healthcare practitioners, scientists and officials participating in the neurotherapeutics field, which serves as a forum for its members and interested groups addressing diverse issues.

Past Presidents

ASENT History - Past Presidents more

Founding Members of ASENT

Thomas N. Chase, M.D.

Stanley Fahn, M.D.

Edmund P. Harrigan, M.D.

Paul Leber, M.D.

Carl M. Leventhal, M.D.

Ira Shoulson, M.D.

Jamie Street, M.D.

Michael D. Walker, M.D.

Justin A. Zivin, M.D., Ph.D.